Lean Aerospace Initiative Wins IAA Award

Book Co-Authored by Members of ESD Faculty and Teaching Staff Wins International Academy of Astronomics Award

October 31, 2003

Lean Enterprise Value: Insights from MIT’s Lean Aerospace Initiative (Palgrave/Macmillan, 2002) was recently awarded the 2003 "Engineering Sciences Book Award" for outstanding achievement from the International Academy of Astronautics(IAA). The book was written by a team of MIT scholars with Earll Morton Murman, Ford Professor of Engineering and Professor of Aeronautics, Astronautics, and Engineering Systems, as the lead author.

Other co-authors from ESD faculty and teaching staff include:

  • Thomas J. Alllen, Margaret MacVicar Faculty Fellow, Howard W. Johnson Professor of Management, Professor of Engineering Systems, and Co-Director, LFM and SDM Programs
  • Joel Cutcher-Gershenfeld, Executive Director, Engineering Systems Learning Center Senior Research Scientist, Sloan School of Management
  • Deborah Nightingale, Professor of the Practice of Aeronautics and Astronautics and Engineering Systems
  • Thomas Anton Kochan, George Maverick Bunker Professor of Management
  • Sheila Widnall, Institute Professor and Professor of Aeronautics, Astronautics, and Engineering Systems.

Additional authors include Kirkor Bozdogan, Hugh McManus, Eric Rebentisch, Tom Shields, Fred Stahl, Myles Walton and Joyce Warmkessel.

The International Academy of Astronautics was founded in Stockholm in 1960. Since that time, IAA has brought together the world’s foremost experts in the disciplines of astronautics on a regular basis to recognize the accomplishments of their peers, to explore and discuss cutting-edge issues in space research and technology, and to provide direction and guidance in the non-military uses of space and the ongoing exploration of the solar system.